

TAB 8

Report to Convocation April 26, 2018

Paralegal Standing Committee

Committee Members

Robert Burd (Chair) Janis Criger (Vice-Chair) Marion Boyd Cathy Corsetti Michelle Haigh Brian Lawrie Marian Lippa Susan McGrath Malcolm Mercer Barbara Murchie Jan Richardson Baljit Sikand Anne Vespry

Purpose of Report: Information

Prepared by the Policy Division Will Morrison (416-947-3314)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

For Information

Election of Committee Chair......Tab 8.1

COMMITTEE PROCESS

- 1. The Paralegal Standing Committee (the "Committee") met on April 11, 2018. In attendance were Michelle Haigh (Chair), Janis Criger (Vice-Chair), Robert Burd, Cathy Corsetti, Marian Lippa, Susan McGrath (by telephone), Malcolm Mercer, Barbara Murchie, Jan Richardson, Baljit Sikand, and Anne Vespry. Treasurer Paul Schabas also participated.
- 2. Law Society staff members Priya Bhatia, Lesley Cameron, Will Morrison, Cara-Marie O'Hagan, and Jim Varro attended the meeting.

TAB 8.1

FOR INFORMATION

ELECTION OF COMMITTEE CHAIR

- 3. By-Law 3 provides for the annual election of the Chair of the Paralegal Standing Committee. The election of the Chair is required to be the first item of business at the meeting one year after the last election.
- 4. Since the last election was held in April 2017, the election of the Chair was required to be the first item of business at the Committee's meeting in April 2018.
- 5. In accordance with s. 130.4 of By-Law 3, Diana Miles, then Acting CEO, assigned the responsibilities of Elections Officer for this election to James Varro, Director, Office of the CEO and Corporate Secretary. Mr. Varro attended the meeting to preside over the election.
- 6. By-Law 3 further requires that, following the election, the person elected be appointed Chair.
- 7. Since there was only one nomination for the position, the sole nominee Robert Burd was declared elected and was appointed Chair of the Committee for a one year term.