MINUTES OF SPECIAL CONVOCATION

Thursday, 27th July, 2023 9:00 a.m. Via Videoconference

PRESENT:

The Treasurer (Jacqueline Horvat), Adourian, Alford, Banack, Banning, Callaghan, Chan, Chugh, Dimokopoulos, Durcan, Emmett, Enenajor, Gold, Hansen, Hrick, Hulan, Kalajdzic, Kitagawa, Klippenstein, Konanur, Levitt, Lewis, Lomazzo, Malette, Merali, Mietkiewicz, Monforton, Moriah, Ouellet, Painchaud, Pawlitza, Radan, Rodriguez, Rosenthal, K. Ross, Q. Ross, Rotstein, Sellers, Shortreed, Siran, Strosberg, Surchin, Sutherland, Troister, Walker, Wardle, Wellman, Whitehead, Wilson and Winward.

.

Secretary: James Varro

The Reporter was sworn.

IN PUBLIC

TREASURER'S REMARKS

The Treasurer welcomed everyone to Convocation.

The Treasurer advised that benchers have gathered virtually today, but when gathered at Osgoode Hall in Toronto, it is recognized that Toronto is a Mohawk word that means "where there are trees standing in the water".

When Convocation meets in Toronto, the Treasurer acknowledges that Convocation meets on the traditional territory of the Mississaugas of the Credit First Nation. She advised that for this Convocation, benchers are participating across the province and perhaps elsewhere, and across many First Nations territories. She recognized the long history of all the First Nations in Ontario and the Inuit and Métis peoples and thanked all Indigenous peoples who lived and live in these lands for sharing them with us in peace.

The Treasurer addressed the protocol for Convocation via videoconference.

The Treasurer noted the email sent to benchers yesterday respecting virtual verification of client identification and advised that a notice to the profession will be issued on this subject this week.

The Treasurer acknowledged the appointed benchers whose terms end on July 31, 2023 and on behalf of Convocation, thanked them for their service:

Dr. Benson Lau Clare Sellers Gerald Sheff Seymour Epstein The Treasurer offered a special thank you to Seymour Epstein, the longest serving appointed bencher, for his commitment to the Law Society's work over the past 20 years.

The Treasurer advised that the following new appointed benchers will take office on August 1, 2023:

Dr. Louis Gagnon Sarah Letersky Frank McCrea Hassan Pirnia Trevor Townsend

MOTION – COMMITTEE AND OTHER APPOINTMENTS

The Treasurer introduced the motion.

It was moved by Ms. Lewis, seconded by Mr. Quinn Ross:

THAT the attached list of appointments under Schedule A be approved.

THAT Shalini Konanur be appointed to the Law Commission of Ontario Board of Governors for a term of three years.

THAT Convocation approve Rebecca Durcan, Heather Hansen, Andrew Spurgeon and Mark Surchin as nominees for election to the LAWPRO Board of Directors.

THAT Jennifer Gold be appointed to the Ontario Justice Education Network Board of Directors for a three-year term.

THAT Robert Adourian and Gerald Chan be appointed to the Hearing Division of the Law Society Tribunal for a term ending June 30, 2025.

SCHEDULE A COMMITTEE, TASK FORCE, WORKING GROUP AND OTHER APPOINTMENTS

COMMITTEES

Access to Justice

Cheryl Siran (Co-Chair)

Doug Wellman (Co-Chair)

Robert Adourian

Paula Callaghan

Neha Chugh

Jennifer Gold

Mitchell Kitagawa

Shalini Konanur

Joelle Malette

Deborah Moriah

Jonathan Rosenthal

Stephen Rotstein

Audit & Finance

Sidney Troister (Chair)

Michelle Lomazzo (Vice-Chair)

Rebecca Durcan

Laura Emmett

Heather Hansen

Howard Levitt

Atrisha Lewis

Hassan Pirnia

Michael Radan

Stephen Rotstein

Mark Surchin

Trevor Townsend

<u>Audit & Finance – Compensation Fund Subcommittee</u>

Laura Emmett (Chair)

Hassan Pirnia

Michael Radan

Stephen Rotstein

Trevor Townsend

Compensation

Jacqueline Horvat (Chair)

Michelle Lomazzo

Geneviève Painchaud

Megan Shortreed

Sidney Troister

Equity and Indigenous Affairs

Catherine Banning (Co-Chair)

Gerald Chan (Co-Chair)

Annamaria Enenajor (Vice Chair)

Neha Chugh

Mitchell Kitagawa

Shalini Konanur

Joelle Malette

Isfahan Merali

Deborah Moriah

Natalia Rodriguez

Kevin Ross

Stephanie Sutherland

Futures

Karen Hulan (Co-Chair)

Quinn Ross (Co-Chair)

Demetra Dimokopoulos

Sarah Letersky

Howard Levitt

Cathi Mietkiewicz

Michael Radan

Natalia Rodriguez

Tanya Walker

Kathryn Whitehead

Paralegal Standing

Michelle Lomazzo (Chair)

Geneviève Painchaud (Vice-Chair)

Paula Callaghan

Demetra Dimokopoulos

Louis Gagnon

Mitchell Kitagawa

Shalini Konanur

Greg Monforton

Deborah Moriah

Michael Radan

Cheryl Siran

Stephanie Sutherland

Doug Wellman

Proceedings Authorization

Jonathan Rosenthal (Chair)

Atrisha Lewis

Frank McCrea

Deborah Moriah

Megan Shortreed

Matthew Wilson

Professional Development and Competence

Atrisha Lewis (Chair)

Jasminka Kalajdzic (Vice-Chair)

Peter Wardle (Vice-Chair)

Paula Callaghan

Gerald Chan

Demetra Dimokopoulos

Karen Hulan

Greg Monforton

Sonia Ouellet

Margaret Waddell

Tanya Walker

Doug Wellman

Michael Winward

Professional Regulation

Megan Shortreed (Chair)

William McDowell (Vice-Chair)

Pam Hrick

Michelle Lomazzo

Cathi Mietkiewicz

Sonia Ouellet

Geneviève Painchaud

Kevin Ross

Quinn Ross

Andrew Spurgeon

Margaret Waddell

Kathryn Whitehead

Matthew Wilson

Michael Winward

Strategic Planning and Advisory

Jacqueline Horvat (Chair)

Catherine Banning

Gerald Chan

Atrisha Lewis

Michelle Lomazzo

Geneviève Painchaud

Jonathan Rosenthal

Megan Shortreed

Cheryl Siran

Sidney Troister

Diana Miles (Ex-officio)

Tribunal

Rebecca Durcan (Chair) (*Ex-officio*)
Catherine Banning (Vice-Chair)
Ryan Alford
Paula Callaghan
Neha Chugh
Jasminka Kalajdzic
Murray Klippenstein
Peter Wardle (*Ex-officio*)

TASK FORCES, WORKING GROUPS AND OTHER APPOINTMENTS

Governance Review Task Force

Geneviève Painchaud (Co-Chair)

Peter Wardle (Co-Chair)

Rebecca Durcan

Mitchell Kitagawa

Michelle Lomazzo

William McDowell

Cathi Mietkiewicz

Sonia Ouellet

Hassan Pirnia

Kevin Ross

Megan Shortreed

Andrew Spurgeon

Lawyers Professional Indemnity Review Task Force

William McDowell (Chair)

Pam Hrick (Vice-Chair)

Paula Callaghan

Laura Emmett

Annamaria Enenajor

Louis Gagnon

Karen Hulan

Greg Monforton

Harvey Strosberg

Doug Wellman

Matthew Wilson

Michael Winward

Human Rights Monitoring Group (Equity)

Tanya Walker (Chair)

Annamaria Enenajor

Shalini Konanur

Deborah Moriah

Natalia Rodriguez

Doug Wellman

Law Foundation of Ontario Board Linda Rothstein (Chair) Catherine Banning Gerald Chan

Summary Orders Tanya Walker

Carried

Prof. Alford and Mr. Klippenstein abstained.

TREASURER'S REMARKS

The Treasurer reminded benchers of the strategic planning session in September and advised that, with the exception of the Audit and Finance Committee, there will be no scheduled committee meetings in September.

REPORT FOR INFORMATION ONLY

MOTION - COMMITTEE AND OTHER APPOINTMENTS

• Schedule B – Other Appointments

CONVOCATION ADJOURNED AT 9:31 A.M.

Confirmed in Convocation this 28th day of September, 2023.

Jacqueline Horvat,
Treasurer