#### MINUTES OF CONVOCATION

Wednesday, 28<sup>th</sup> June, 2023 9:00 a.m. Via Videoconference

#### PRESENT:

The Treasurer (Jacqueline Horvat), Adourian, Alford, Banack, Banning, Callaghan, Chan, Chugh, Conway, Dimokopoulos, Donnelly, Durcan, Emmett, Enenajor, Epstein, Ferrier, Gold, Hansen, Hrick, Hulan, Kitagawa, Klippenstein, Konanur, Krishna, Levitt, Lewis, Lomazzo, Malette, Marrocco, McDowell, Mietkiewicz, Monforton, Moriah, Murray, Ouellet, Painchaud, Pawlitza, Radan, Rodriguez, Rosenthal, K. Ross, Q. Ross, Rotstein, Sellers, Sheff, Shortreed, Siran, Spurgeon, Strosberg, Surchin, Sutherland, Troister, Waddell, Walker, Wardle, Wellman, Whitehead, Wilson and Winward.

. . . . . . . . .

Secretary: James Varro

The Reporter was sworn.

### **IN PUBLIC**

### **ELECTION OF TREASURER**

The Secretary announced that at the close of nominations at 5:00 p.m. on May 26, 2023, there was one candidate for the election of Treasurer. Jacqueline Horvat was declared elected as Treasurer for the term commencing June 28, 2023.

#### TREASURER'S REMARKS

The Treasurer thanked benchers for the honour of being re-elected.

The Treasurer advised that benchers have gathered virtually today, but when gathered at Osgoode Hall in Toronto, it is recognized that Toronto is a Mohawk word that means "where there are trees standing in the water".

When Convocation meets in Toronto, the Treasurer acknowledges that Convocation meets on the traditional territory of the Mississaugas of the Credit First Nation. She advised that for this Convocation, benchers are participating across the province and perhaps elsewhere, and across many First Nations territories. She recognized the long history of all the First Nations in Ontario and the Inuit and Métis peoples and thanked all Indigenous peoples who lived and live in these lands for sharing them with us in peace.

The Treasurer acknowledged Eid-al-Adha which will be celebrated by members of the Muslim community on June 29, 2023.

The Treasurer advised benchers that she is honoured to work with them to fulfill the commitments made to the professions and the public, and highlighted a number of regulatory and other matters, including competence, and the commitment to govern competently. The

Treasurer encouraged benchers to learn, study and debate respectfully and productively and to make known their unique perspectives and views in their work as benchers.

The Treasurer addressed the protocol for Convocation via videoconference.

#### MOTION – CONSENT AGENDA – TAB 1

It was moved by Mr. Spurgeon, seconded by Mr. Wardle, that Convocation approve the consent agenda set out at Tab 1 of the Convocation Materials.

Carried

#### Tab 1.1 – DRAFT MINUTES OF CONVOCATION

The draft minutes of the May 25, 2023 Convocation meeting were confirmed.

#### Tab 1.2 – MOTIONS

#### Tab 1.2.1 – Election of Benchers

THAT Murray Klippenstein, having satisfied the requirements contained in subsection 43(1) and section 45 of By-Law 3, and having consented to election as bencher in accordance with paragraph 12(1)(d) of the By-Law, be elected by Convocation in accordance with subsection 43(1) of the By-Law as bencher to fill the vacancy in the number of benchers elected from the Province of Ontario "A" Electoral Region (City of Toronto) on the basis of the votes cast by all electors, as a result of the appointment of John Callaghan as a judge of the Ontario Superior Court of Justice, who was elected from the Province of Ontario "A" Electoral Region (City of Toronto) on the basis of the votes cast by all electors, and being appointed as a judge became unable to continue in office as a bencher, thereby creating the vacancy.

#### AND

THAT Robert Adourian, having satisfied the requirements contained in subsection 43(1) and section 45 of By-Law 3, and having consented to election as bencher in accordance with paragraph 12(1)(d) of the By-Law, be elected by Convocation in accordance with subsection 43(1) of the By-Law as bencher to fill the vacancy in the number of benchers elected from the Province of Ontario "A" Electoral Region (City of Toronto) on the basis of the votes cast by all electors, as a result of the appointment of Catherine Rhinelander as a judge of the Ontario Superior Court of Justice, who was elected from the Province of Ontario "A" Electoral Region (City of Toronto) on the basis of the votes cast by all electors, and being appointed as a judge became unable to continue in office as a bencher, thereby creating the vacancy.

<u>Carried</u>

#### Tab 1.2.2 – Tribunal Appointments

THAT Ryan Alford and Murray Klippenstein be appointed to the Hearing Division of the Law Society Tribunal for a term ending June 30, 2025.

Carried

# **IN PUBLIC**

### TREASURER'S REMARKS

The Treasurer welcomed elected benchers Murray Klippenstein and Robert Adourian to Convocation.

The Treasurer congratulated former benchers John Callaghan and Catherine Rhinelander on their appointments as Judges of the Ontario Superior Court of Justice.

# **IN PUBLIC**

### REPORT FOR INFORMATION ONLY

# AUDIT AND FINANCE COMMITTEE REPORT

- Law Society of Ontario Financial Statements for the Quarter ended March 31, 2023
- LiRN Inc. Financial Statements for the Quarter ended March 31, 2023
- Investment Compliance Reports for the Quarter ended March 31, 2023

CONVOCATION ADJOURNED AT 10:29 A.M.

Confirmed in Convocation this 28 <sup>th</sup> day of September,	2023.
<del>.</del>	angualina Harvat
	acqueline Horvat,
Tı	reasurer